Languages

A A A
printprint




Build a Wellbeing Market to Propel Hong Kong’s Standing. Provide a Brighter Future and Take Financial Growth to the Next Level

Date: 
22 Jul 2020

Improving the Wellbeing (Physical, Mental and Financial) of Hongkongers by shifting the focus of healthcare from "sickcare" to the wider meaning of "healthcare"

Across the financial hubs of London, New York, Shanghai, Tokyo and Hong Kong, the COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted a pressing need for a healthcare system that not only responds to treatment needs, but also predicts and prevents disease. In the face of swift and escalatingoutbreaks, a proactive healthcare model will be the key to sustaining the continued growth of these densely populated financial centres.

Hong Kong's healthcare systems are known for producing good outcomes at acceptable cost levels, topping the Bloomberg Health-Care Efficiency Index in 2017 and 2018. Over the past several months, its public healthcare system has proven its worth in a crisis. The city's health insurance market is also mature, with over 50% of the population covered by medical insurance as of February 20191 and gross premiums growing steadily over the past five years2.

Strikingly, in recent years, we observe that there is a paradigm shift in leading healthcare markets towards an integrative approach, moving from focusing on curative treatment increasingly towards prediction and prevention. In order words, rather than waiting for people to get ill and then reacting, markets are changing from a "sickcare market" into a "wellbeing market", with emphasis on proactively keeping people healthy rather than simply treating them when they get sick. Beyond improving individual outcomes, protecting society and the economy, the development of such an integrated wellbeing market would also benefit Hong Kong's financial services industry, which would, in turn, boost its competitive strengths and further sustain its position as a leading global financial centre.

The benefits to the financial industry are at least fourfold. Firstly, R&D and the development of HealthTech infrastructure will foster a community of start-ups, which would provide new opportunities for young talent and help expand Hong Kong's entrepreneurial footprint in the Greater Bay Area, the rest of the Mainland and beyond.

One of the key enablers for building the wellbeing market is the development of HealthTech, which would power a state-of-the-art integrated health management ecosystem that addresses barriers to high-quality outcomes and facilitates predictive modelling and disease prevention. Such an undertaking would require strong governance as well as collaboration between stakeholders from the private and public sectors, including the government, healthcare providers, HealthTech developers and insurers. Hong Kong is an ideal incubator for such initiatives, given existing regulations that are geared towards innovation, in addition to its well-established public health system and regulatory bodies.

Yet our advantages are not unique, as some of our neighbouring countries have already been scaling up their wellbeing markets in recent years. For instance, Singapore now has more than 170 start-ups related to HealthTech. Hong Kong must rise to the competition and develop and nurture the necessary ecosystem. The financial services industry not only has a role to contribute in it but, in return, can also benefit from such development.

Secondly, as a new wellbeing market ecosystem emerges in Hong Kong, new business ideas will need seeding and broader financing. This will bolster the private equity and venture capital industries. Boston and the Bay Area in the U.S. are great examples where HealthTech has accelerated the development of a tailored financing industry centred around healthcare and the life sciences. Banks will also benefit as participants in providing loans and facilitating transactions.

Thirdly, the Hong Kong stock exchange will benefit in the medium- to long- run from the proliferation of IPOs of successful HealthTech companies and, more broadly, health enhancement service providers. The stock exchange has already benefitted immensely from biotech IPOs and would continue to do so through a stream of potential HealthTech IPOs.

Fourthly, insurers may develop strong propositions that cater to the emerging needs of the population under this new healthcare model while reducing the burden on public finances. This may even lead to the development of world-class digital platforms and wellbeing ecosystems that begin in Hong Kong and expand over time into the Greater Bay Area and beyond.

We believe that not only would a wellbeing market be vital to the sustainability of Hong Kong's position as a global financial centre, it would also form a lighthouse initiative, establishing new pillars for the broader economy and leading to further market development. For Hong Kong to gain an upper hand in this new trend and become the "Wellbeing Market" hub of the region, the financial services industry should proactively engage in such processes and capture opportunities arising.

We suggest embarking on an integrated effort to bring healthcare, in the true meaning of the word, to the next level in Hong Kong by building a wellbeing market. So that Hong Kong will become world renowned as a sustainable leading financial centre complete with a commensurate quality healthcare environment. Such an environment will in turn increase Hong Kong's attractiveness as a leading financial centre,hub for business, and generally for people to live a healthier, for longer, life.

 

Winnie Wong
Board Member

Mark Saunders
New Business Committee Member

Financial Services Development Council

 

 

1  https://www.statistics.gov.hk/pub/B11302682019XXXXB0100.pdf

2  https://www.ia.org.hk/en/infocenter/statistics/annual_general_business_statistics.html


Copyright © 2020 Financial Services Development Council. All rights reserved.

Languages

A A A
printprint




構建健康福祉市場——引領金融業發展 提升香港地位 開創光輝未來

Date: 
22 Jul 2020

從「治病」到「防病」,以「健康福祉」為主導,全面改善香港人的身心與財務健康

新冠肺炎疫情衝擊全球經濟,倫敦、紐約、上海、東京和香港五大金融中心無一倖免,疫情更凸顯了全球醫療體制急需與時並進,除了要應付各種醫療護理的需要,亦需肩負預測及預防疾病工作。金融中心人口密集,面對傳染病爆發,醫療制度亦應積極主動,方能幫助推動經濟持續增長。

根據2017年及2018年公布的彭博健康護理效率指數,香港的醫療制度連續兩年都位列全球第一,醫療質素享譽國際,更把醫療成本控制在合理水平。在過去數月疫情期間,香港的公營醫療制度亦顯其價值。另外,香港醫療保險市場發展成熟,截至20192月 1,全港超過一半人口已有醫療保險的保障,毛保費在過去五年均錄得穩定增長 2

然而,近年領先的醫療市場出現明顯範式轉移(paradigm shift),從著重為病人提供有效治療,轉向更為重視預測及預防疾病,邁向全面的健康保障。換言之,他們現時已不再只停留於「治病救人」,而是更進一步的由「防病」著手,著重於整體「健康保障」,積極促使人們保持健康。發展以保障健康福祉為本的市場,不但能為更好地為市民提供幫助,又能保障社會,維持經濟增長,更可為香港金融服務業帶來極大的增長機遇,繼而提升香港的競爭力,鞏固其作為全球領先國際金融中心的地位。

醫療市場的轉型對金融業來說可謂一舉多得,包括但不限於以下四大方面:首先,研發醫療科技及其基礎建設能夠培育初創企業社群,為年青人才帶來機遇,並有助香港企業將業務延伸至粵港澳大灣區,其他內地地區以至更廣闊的市場。

發展醫療科技是建立健康福祉市場的重要一環。醫療科技的發展,可促使形成一個先進的健康管理生態系統,從而有利於建構預測模型以進行疾病預防工作。醫療科技發展需要有完善的監管,更有賴公私營機構與持分者之間的充分協作,包括政府、醫療服務提供者、醫療科技發展商及保險公司。現時香港擁有對醫療科技創新友善的規管制度,完善的公營醫療體系及健全可靠的監管機構,是培育催化相關發展的理想地點。

然而,這並非香港獨有的優勢——近年,鄰近國家亦致力拓展相關市場,例如新加坡已有超過170間醫療科技相關的初創公司。香港需要積極應對市場競爭,發展和培育必要的生態條件。金融服務業在這方面不僅擔當重要角色,更能從中獲得發展機遇。

第二,當健康福祉市場生態系統在香港漸見雛形,新的業務理念需要資金及更廣泛融資渠道的支持,從而為私募基金及創業投資的發展帶來新動力。例如美國波士頓及三藩市灣區,因應當地醫療科技的蓬勃發展,打造出一個為醫療保健和生命科學度身訂造的服務模型,為其金融業造就了新的發展方向。銀行業亦能透過提供貸款及支持各種交易從中受惠。

第三,中長期而言,成功的醫療科技公司及健康服務供應商在港上市,也可推動香港股票市場的進一步發展。現時,香港股票市場已受益於多家生物科技公司在港上市,預計往後潛在的醫療科技公司在港上市亦會繼續有益於香港股市發展。

第四,在新的醫療模式下,保險公司可設計具吸引力的產品方案,既滿足投保人士在新健康保障理念中日漸浮現的需求,也減輕了公眾財政負擔。這不但可能為香港建立一套世界級的數碼化平台以及健康福祉生態系統,更能於未來將服務延伸至大灣區及其他地區。

金融發展局相信開拓健康福祉市場,不單對香港持續地保持國際金融中心的地位有關鍵作用,更可以點帶面,為整體經濟及市場建立新支柱,帶動未來發展。香港要在健康福祉市場的轉型中取得競爭優勢,成為區內健康福祉市場樞紐,需要金融服務業積極配合,緊抓眼前機遇,助香港乘風破浪。

我們建議各界齊心協力,透過締造名副其實的醫療保健機制,將香港的醫療服務提升至更高水平,並建立相應的健康福祉市場,從而將香港進一步發展成為具世界級的醫療保障的國際金融中心。這可進一步提升香港作為國際金融中心和業務樞紐的吸引力,亦可令在港安居樂業的居民享受更健康長壽的人生。

 

香港金融發展局

董事會成員及拓新業務小組召集人
黃子遜

拓新業務小組成員
馬崇達

 

 

1  https://www.statistics.gov.hk/pub/B11302682019XXXXB0100.pdf


版權所有© 2021 香港金融發展局。