Languages

A A A
printprint




Hong Kong: A Leading Financial Hub of Offshore RMB

Date: 
8 Apr 2020

Hong Kong has seen more than its fair share of uncertainty in the last few months. The protracted trade negotiation between the United States and China and the months of social events, as well as the latest pandemic caused by the COVID-19 virus have affected the city's economy. Despite these turbulences, Hong Kong has maintained its institutional strengths as a provider of financial services, including its role as a leading offshore renminbi (RMB) financial hub. At the FSDC, we believe that when short-term disruptions wane, there is still a lot to look forward to in 2020 and that our city will continue to remain an attractive option for those who want to trade and invest in RMB.

For a long time, Hong Kong has been a gateway to and from Mainland China, and different data points show that our city originates and intermediates about two thirds of China's inward foreign direct investment and outward direct investments. As one of the Mainland's principal trading partners, Hong Kong not only provides a channel for goods and services to go global, but also catalyses the international usage of RMB along the process. Since the launch of the pilot scheme for cross-border trade settlement in renminbi in 2009, RMB trade settlement handled by banks in Hong Kong saw exponential growth, recording 5.38 trillion1 in year 2019, and accounting for 89% of total RMB cross-border trade settlement2.

Much of the two-way financial investment flows, too, have been going through Hong Kong. Since the launch of the Shanghai-Hong Kong Stock Connect in 2014 and the Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect in 2016, northbound trade of both stock connect markets has accumulated a total transaction value of over RMB21 trillion as of end-March, 2020.3 By facilitating cross-boundary investment flows, developments such as these have further consolidated the SAR's position as the financial gateway to and from Mainland China.

During this journey, Hong Kong has taken up a crucial role in offshore RMB settlement, handling much of the world's offshore RMB payment, remittance and settlement transactions which have displayed a momentum of growth. For instance, the RMB Real Time Gross Settlement system recorded an average daily turnover of RMB1,100 billion in 2019, 55% higher than in 2014.4 At the same time, Hong Kong continues to strengthen its role in offshore RMB settlement. According to the Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication (SWIFT), this amounts to about 75% of RMB activity outside Mainland China.5

Our ability to cover these services efficiently is attributable to our deep RMB liquidity pool. As of the end of 2019, Hong Kong's RMB capital pool, including customer deposits and certificates of deposits, stood at RMB658 billion.6 Relatedly, according to the People’s Bank of China, Hong Kong is the world's largest RMB deposit pool and accounts for nearly half of all offshore RMB deposits.7

Due in part to this enormous RMB liquidity pool, Hong Kong is also the world's largest offshore RMB foreign exchange and interest-rates derivatives market. According to the Bank for International Settlements' (BIS) Triennial Survey of Foreign Exchange and Derivatives Market Turnover, as of April 2019, the average daily turnover of RMB foreign exchange transactions reached USD107.6 billion, representing a monumental upswing of 39.6% compared with what the previous survey recorded in 2016; and the average daily turnover of RMB over-the-counter interest-rate derivatives almost doubled to USD12.7 billion.8 Another report from the BIS also showed that, when it comes to offshore RMB foreign exchange transactions, 41% of them are traded in Hong Kong. This is notably higher than the share of trades conducted in the locations that ranked second and third, which are London (22%) and Singapore (16%), respectively.9

Another alluring aspect about Hong Kong's RMB market is the sheer variety of offshore RMB investment products available here, compared with other offshore RMB markets. In Hong Kong, investors have easy access to such products as RMB-denominated foreign exchange futures, RMB-denominated gold futures and RMB-denominated commodity futures, particularly in metals like aluminium, zinc, copper, nickel, tin and lead.10 Such unique advantages make Hong Kong a second-to-none leader in offering services to the offshore RMB liquidity.

Hong Kong has developed a trusted, stable ecosystem for RMB-related finance over the years. Looking forward, there is potential yet to be tapped in fields such as investment, risk management, payment, and liquidity management services in our RMB market. With these further endeavours and the integrated development of the Greater Bay Area, we can look forward to our city continuing in its role as the leading global offshore RMB financial hub.

 

Ding Chen
Board Member

Shusong Ba
Mainland Opportunities Committee Member

Christopher Hui
Executive Director

Financial Services Development Council

 

 


Copyright © 2020 Financial Services Development Council. All rights reserved.

Languages

A A A
printprint




香港:穩健領先的全球離岸人民幣業務樞紐

Date: 
8 Apr 2020

近來數月內,香港經濟受早前外圍中美貿易談判和本地持續社會事件的影響,及COVID-19冠狀病毒疫情帶來的不確定性等因素疊加,表現較為波動。縱然如此,香港在金融服務範疇仍保持制度優勢,其中包括穩站全球離岸人民幣金融樞紐的領先地位。香港金融發展局相信在短期衝擊穩定之後,2020年仍是值得期盼的一年,並認為香港的人民幣市場不論在交易、投資和存款等各方面,對各類型市場參與者亦將依然吸引。

長久以來,香港一直是中國與世界往來的重要窗口,不同數據顯示中國約三分之二的外商直接投資、對外直接投資和大部分金融投資都由香港發起及處理。作為內地主要貿易夥伴之一,香港不僅為內地的商品服務提供貿易通道,也同時推動了人民幣的國際使用。2009年人民幣跨境貿易結算試點開啟至今,2019全年經香港銀行處理的人民幣貿易結算額持續大幅增長至5.38萬億元人民幣1,佔2019年跨境貿易人民幣結算業務總額的89% 2

而隨着滬港通和深港通分別於2014年及2016年開通,大部分金融投資的雙向資本流動經由香港處理。截至20203月,滬港股票市場和深港股票市場的北向交易成交金額累積達約21萬億元人民幣3。這類兩地股票市場的合作計劃促進跨境投資流量,令香港擔當中國金融窗口的地位更加鞏固。

於此過程中,香港在離岸人民幣結算的角色同樣不可或缺。全球大部分離岸人民幣交易都經由香港處理,涵蓋付款、匯款及結算交易,並呈現持續上升的勢頭。在2019年,人民幣即時支付結算系統錄得的每日平均交易金額達1.1萬億元人民幣,比2014年大幅躍升55% 4同時,香港不斷強化其在全球離岸人民幣市場間結算的地位。根據環球銀行金融電信協會(SWIFT)的資料,經由香港處理的離岸人民幣交易佔內地以外全球總量高達75% 5

與此同時,香港龐大的人民幣資金池為我們提供高效可靠的離岸人民幣服務。在2019年底,香港的人民幣資金池規模達6,580億元人民幣(含存款及存款證)6;而中國人民銀行發表的2019年人民幣國際化報告則指出香港擁有全球最大的離岸人民幣資金池,佔接近一半的全球離岸人民幣資金規模7

以豐厚的人民幣資金池為基礎,香港發展成為全球最大的離岸人民幣外匯及利率衍生工具市場。2019年國際結算銀行公布的三年一度外匯與衍生工具市場成交額調查結果顯示8,截至20194月,香港的人民幣外匯交易平均每日成交金額為1,076億美元,較上次2016年調查時增長39.6%,勢頭強勁;人民幣場外利率衍生工具的平均每日成交金額亦倍增至20194月的127億美元。國際結算銀行的另一份報告9亦顯示,香港處理41%的離岸人民幣外匯交易,相比全球交易量分別排第二及第三的倫敦(22%)及新加坡(16%)大有優勢。

除了外匯市場,香港的離岸人民幣投資市場也發展蓬勃,投資產品種類比其他離岸人民幣市場更豐富多元。投資者能在香港輕鬆買賣人民幣計價外匯期貨、人民幣計價黃金期貨及人民幣計價商品期貨,亦有金屬期貨,如鋁、鋅、銅、鎳、錫和鉛10。這些獨特優勢,令香港具備成為首屈一指的離岸人民幣投資市場。

一直以來,香港的人民幣金融生態維持可靠穩健。放眼未來,香港可繼續努力完善人民幣市場的功能,探索在投資、風險管理、支付、現金管理等方面的進一步發展空間。香港作為全球領先的離岸人民幣業務樞紐,加上連通大灣區的高速協同發展,彼此相輔相成,我們有信心未來香港於此大有可為。

 

香港金融發展局

董事會成員及內地機遇小組召集人
丁晨

內地機遇小組成員
巴曙松

行政總監
許正宇

 

 

1 香港金融管理局, https://www.hkma.gov.hk/chi/news-and-media/press-releases/2020/01/20200131-7/https://www.hkma.gov.hk/media/chi/doc/about-the-hkma/legislative-council-issues/20200203c1.pdf

2 中國人民銀行2019年金融統計數據報告, http://www.pbc.gov.cn/diaochatongjisi/116219/116225/3960220/index.html

3 香港交易所每月曆史數據, https://www.hkex.com.hk/Mutual-Market/Stock-Connect/Statistics/Historical-Monthly?sc_lang=zh-HK#select1=0&select2=0

4 立法會十三題:離岸人民幣業務, https://www.info.gov.hk/gia/general/202001/15/P2020011500323.htm?fontSize=1

5 環球銀行金融電信協會(SWIFT)《人民幣追蹤》, https://www.swift.com/file/67611/download?token=B855vXHz [只提供英文版]

6 香港特區政府《二零一九年經濟概況及二零二零年展望https://www.hkeconomy.gov.hk/tc/pdf/er_c_19q4.pdf

7 中國人民銀行《2019年人民幣國際化報告》http://www.pbc.gov.cn/huobizhengceersi/214481/3871621/3879422/2019082317152314540.pdf

8 國際清算銀行三年一度的中央銀行調查報告, https://www.bis.org/statistics/rpfx19.htm [只提供英文版]

9 國際清算銀行《全球外匯市場規模》, https://www.bis.org/publ/qtrpdf/r_qt1912f.pdf [只提供英文版]

10 香港交易所, https://www.hkex.com.hk/Products/Listed-Derivatives/Commodities/CNH-London-Metal-Mini/CNH-London-Aluminium-Mini-Futures?sc_lang=zh-HK#&product=LRA


版權所有© 2021 香港金融發展局。